Learning Management Systems

Learning Management System News

Deleting Courses In Moodle

Posted by Jim Yupangco on Dec 19, 2008

In response to our Moodle Mondays the following questions was asked by a participant:

When I delete an account, I know that the grade records are still kept with the class. How can I access the records with the account gone or unassigned from the class?
Furthermore, by deleting a class, would the students' grades also be erased?

Here is the answer as we see it:

Point1:
You might have to reassign the student back to the class in order to get that info. A way to avoid this is to run the course as a new course every term or semester. Simply backup the old course without user info and then restore it as a new course.

Point2:
If you delete a course all of the students grades go with it as well. You should back up and archive the course before deleting. Our completion module permanently stores the users grades.

As always please feel free to contact us if you are looking for Moodle support, hosting or training.

Learning Insights Delivered right to your door

We cover industry highlights in eLearning, best practices in Talent Management and Learning Management, and Trends in Learning and Online Training.

Subscribe to updates below on a frequency that works for you.

Subscribe to our Blog

Recent Posts